USMT modifieds run at Humboldt Speedway

HUMBOLDT — Six heat races and three B feature races pared a field of 53 down to 26 for the USMT Modified Touring Series A feature race Friday at Humboldt Speedway.
Jason Hughes won a heat race as did Kelly Shryock, two of the top drivers in the USMT. The two drivers are battling for series points and gave the more than 1,000 racing fans packed into the Speedway a show in the A feature.
Hughes, who had trouble in three USMT stops earlier in the week, found the track to victory on Humboldt’s dirt and claimed victory in the 40-lap race. Shryock took second in the $3,000-to-win race. Hughes went on to Caney on Saturday to win a second straight USMT main race in as many nights.
Bryan Rowland, Chase Junghans and Zack VanderBeek claimed wins in the three B feature races. VanderBeek ran third in the main feature followed by Tommy Myer and Rodney Sanders in the top five.
The top local finisher was Jesse Folk Jr. in 14th and Ryan Whitworth was 15th. NASCAR veteran driver Ken Schrader ended up 12th.
It was the third stop of the season at Humboldt Speedway by the USMT Modified Touring Series.
In Humboldt’s regular factory stock feature, Derrek Wilson fending off an early challenge by Doug Scism for a roll into victory lane. Scism finished second followed by Brandon Tindle, Matt Weintz and Tim Phillips.
Paden Phillips notched a B-Mod win with Levi McGowen taking second place. Jay Lamons Jr. drove from the 20th spot to claimed third place. Tim VanGotten placed fourth and Mike Letterman was fifth.
This Friday it is Kid’s Night at Humboldt Speedway.