Speedway doubles up on USMTS races

HUMBOLDT — Racing fans got a double dose of the USMTS/Casey’s General Store Modified Series at Humboldt Speedway over the weekend.
Only Saturday’s races were originally scheduled at Humboldt for the modified tour series. But inclement weather his elsewehre Friday so the USMTS drivers couldn’t run at Caney Valley Speedway.
Ron and Rhenda Whitworth, Humboldt Speedway’s owners, stepped up and offered to run a second show of the USMTS racing Sunday.
On Saturday, there were 26 modifieds in the USMTS A-feature race that went 40 laps. Jon Tesch of Watertown, S.D. claimed the victory. Jason Hughes, Westville, Okla., took the runner-up spot with Kelly Shryock of Fertile, Iowa, in third. Chad Wheeler of Muskogee, Okla., ran fourth and Dustin Boney of Tonganoxie was fifth.
Also running Saturday for Humboldt Speedway points, Scott Stuart opened the 2009 season with a wire-to-wire win in the factory stock feature. Dan Jesseph placed second followed by Dusty Marvin, Jeremy Wilson and Billy Shadden.
In the B-Mod feature race, Levi McGowen lost out in a battle for the opening win. He and Justin Boots were in front of the pack when McGowen’s engine gave way. Boots claimed the win.
Paden Phillips finished second and Max Grogan was third. Jim Daniels crossed the line in fourth followed by Brad Jarman.
On Sunday afternoon, after running three B feature races there were 26 in the modified A feature race field. Steve Holzkamper of Gentry, Ark., captured the USMTS victory.
Johnny Bone Jr. of Pea Ridge, Ark., ran second followed by Johnny Fennewald of Appleton City, Mo. Dustin Boney placed fourth and Gary Langworthy of Coffeyville placed fifth.
In a factory stock race, Dan Jesseph took the top spot with Zack Simmons in second place. Dusty Marvin was third followed by jeremy wilson and Derrek Wilson.
Dalton Kirk won the B-Mod feature race. Scott Collins ran second followed by Justin Boots, Chris Brecheinsen and Jim Daniels.
Regular season racing at Humboldt opens Saturday.