Seven area athletes earn TVL honors

Register Sports Editor

Humboldt High’s seniors Kelci Owens and Lenzie Boring and Yates Center High’s seniors Michael Bettega and Brent Matile led their teams to Class 2A substate finals at the end of the 2008-2009 season.
Those four area high school athletes also made an impact during the regular season playing in the Tri-Valley League.
Yates Center’s Wildcat boys battled right to the end for the TVL championship. Bettega and Matile were recognized by TVL coaches. The two Wildcat players plus Humboldt junior Tevin Strack were named to the 2008-2009 All-TVL boys’ first team.
Yates Center senior Jordan Hughes earned TVL honorable mention.
Owens and Boring were named to the All-TVL girls’ first team. Yates Center senior Taylor Heffern received honorable mention.
Joining the area boys on the first team were Burlington seniors Ryan Louia and Corey Smith, Caney Valley junior Gable LaForge, Cherryvale seniors Brandon Blackburn and Dennon Windsor, Fredonia senior Hayes Farwell, Neodesha seniors Shawn Livingston and Brandon Montgomery.
Joining the area girls on the first team were Burlington senior Allyx Barnhart and junior Heather Eddings, Caney Valley senior Morgan Rolls, Cherryvale seniors Kelsey Overacker and Sara Schwaninger, Eureka sophomore Taylyn Schwartz, Fredonia junior Christina Graves and sophomore Kaitlyn Rogers and Neodesha junior Taylor Giger.
Others receiving honorable mention were: girls — Burlington junior Korinn Card, Caney Valley sophomore Kati Hiner, Neodesha junior Belinda Rohling; boys — Burlington senior Jeremy Black, Cherryvale senior Chance Baker, Neodesha senior Andrew Gutschenritter.