Nine IHS players earn SEK honors

Register Sports Editor

Jenna Sigg
Nick Cook
Kylie Taylor
Morgan Buchholz
Alex Hill
Mark Bristol
Derrick McKarnin
Drew Mueller
Molly Riebel

Best-ever seasons produced league honors for nine Iola High School athletes on the softball and baseball teams in 2009.
The All-Southeast Kansas League softball and baseball teams were not released until Iola High’s Fillies finished their run in the 2009 Kansas Class 4A State Softball Tournament. The teams selected by SEK coaches were not available to the Register until late last week.
The Fillies battled for the SEK league championship until the final week of play, finishing second to Fort Scott with a 14-2 SEK record. The Fillies had three players earn All-SEK first team honors and two to garner All-SEK second team honors in 2009.
Seniors Jenna Sigg and Kylie Taylor and junior Alex Hill were named to the 2009 All-SEK first team. Senior Morgan Buchholz and junior Molly Riebel were selected to the second team.
Those five players helped lead the Fillies to their first-ever berth in the Class 4A state tournament. The Fillies posted a program best 18-4 record, won a Class 4A regional championship and played in the first round of the state tournament in 2009.
Iola High’s Mustangs posted its first winning season in the five-year history of the baseball program. They went 10-7, losing in the first round of the Class 4A regional tournament. Iola finished third in the SEK at 8-6, the program’s best league mark as well.
Seniors Derrek McKar-nin and Nick Cook were selected to the 2009 All-SEK first team baseball unit. Seniors Mark Bristol and Drew Mueller were named to the league’s second team.
Sigg is the Fillies’ three-time SEK first-team third baseman. She led the Fillies offensively for two years in a row. During the 2009 season, Sigg hit .368 with 29 hits, 17 runs batted in and 27 runs scored, all team highs. She also led the team with three home runs and two triples plus a team-best 14 stolen bases. Her on-base average was .394 and her slugging average was .529.
Taylor was named to the first team for the second year in a row as Iola’s starting catcher. Taylor drove in 16 runs, second on the team, and had two home runs. She hit .364 with 20 hits and 12 runs scored. Taylor is considered one of the best defensive catchers in the area with the ability to throw runners out at all three bases.
Hill, a second-team selection a year ago, was Iola’s ace on the mound for 2009. She had a 15-4 record with a 1.58 earned run average and had two saves this season. Hill pitched 134.67 innings, which included a 23-inning night of a doubleheader with Fort Scott High School in league play. She allowed 28 earned runs, walked 31 batters and struck out 112 batters.
Buchholz has been Iola’s starting second baseman for two years. She hit .245 for the 2009 season with 12 RBIs, 14 hits. She scored 11 runs.
Riebel moved into the starting center field spot for the Fillies this season. She was one of the leading hitters for the team with a batting average of .368. She had 28 hits and drove in 14 runs. She had 29 hits and scored 19 runs.
For the Mustangs, McKarnin was a steady force on the pitcher’s mound. McKarnin was 4-0 and had one save during the season with an ERA of 0.75. He pitched 28 innings, facing a team-high 109 batters and only gave up 16 hits, all but two of which were singles. McKarnin walked six and struck out 28.
At the plate, McKarnin hit .316, scored nine runs, drove in 10, and had 12 hits, including three doubles and two home runs.
Cook was the team’s starting first baseman and led the Mustangs at the plate with a .431 batting average. He scored 12 runs while leading the team with 22 hits and 17 RBIs. He had one home run plus was 4-for-4 stealing bases.
Bristol was Iola’s starting center fielder. He was second on the team with a .364 batting average and 20 hits. He led the team in runs scored with 21. Bristol drove in 12 . He had four doubles and two home runs. He was 9-for-10 in stolen base attempts to lead the Mustangs and he led them in walks with 14.
Bristol also pitched for Iola, going 3-1 with a 2.83 ERA. He allowed 20 hits, walked 13 and struck out 21 in 17 innings pitched.
Mueller was the Mustangs’ mainstay behind the plate for the past two years. He played catcher and designated hitter in 2009. He had a .250 batting average with 18 runs scored, 10 hits and four RBIs. He hit three doubles and drew 12 walks. He was 7-for-7 in stolen base attempts.
Others named to the 2009 All-SEK softball and baseball teams:


First team: Erica Davis, Elise Nation, Erin Coffman, Jade Weeter, Fort Scott; Brooke Rollison, Johnna Sutton, Independence; Natalie Koons, Bailie Hatfield, Columbus; Allie Reynolds, Labette County; Taylor Gard, Chanute; Megan Nance, Pittsburg; Megan Hoppenstedt, Coffeyville.
Second team: Amanda Bowles, Jamie Collins, Fort Scott; Taylor Smith, Jessica Kebert, Independence; Audra Stover, Maeleigh Soper, Columbus; Kaysha Julich, Shelbie Foister, Labette County; Savannah Cook, Bethany Franke, Chanute; Abby Bernhardt, Pittsburg; Erin Macaronas, Coffeyville.


First team: Lane Hoffmeister, Brandon Stein, Dylan Kemp, Dustin Oliver, Independence; Zach White, Jordan Elliot, Tanner Smith, Pittsburg; Matt Crain, Jaden Tedlock, Columbus; Brett Cares, Donte Flores, Parsons; Craig Gilmore, Chanute; Cameron Turner, Cass Head, Coffeyville; Jarrett Pizzo, Labette County; Mikey Karlskint, Fort Scott.
Second team: Ryan Dierks, Grant Webster, Independence; Blake Wilson, Jace Erwin, Pittsburg; Ethan LaForge, Jordan Marlow, Parsons; Justin Pillar, Chase Leonard, Columbus; Kevin Martin, Chanute; Matt Dixon, Andrew King, Coffeyville; Michael Krewson, Labette County.