New prep football districts are announced

Register Sports Editor

Shifts were noticeable in the newly released high school football district assignments. All seven area high school teams felt the effects of enrollment changes in 2009-2010.
The Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA) announced Wednesday the football district assignments for the 2010 and 2011 seasons.
Iola High’s Mustangs stay in Class 4A District 6 but one opponent changes. Chanute High’s Blue Comets have moved into District 7 with Girard, Independence and Parsons. The Mustangs will play Fort Scott Anderson County and newcomer Prairie View.
Uniontown High’s Eagles moved up to Class 3A from Class 2-1A. The Eagles are in the Class 3A District 4 with West Franklin of Pomona, Central Heights and Wellsville.
Movement of schools because of 2009-2010 enrollments forced KSHSAA to redraw Class 2-1A and Eight-Man districts.
Humboldt High’s Cubs and five other teams make up Class 2-1A District 1 for 2010 and 2011. The other teams are Lyndon, Jayhawk-Linn, Olpe, Oswego and Pittsburg St. Mary’s-Colgan.
Yates Center High’s Wildcats dropped to Class 1A and into Eight-Man Division I football. They join three other area eight-man teams in that division.
Crest High’s Lancers and Marmaton Valley High’s Wildcats remain in Eight-Man I, District 2 joined by Yates Center. Other teams in the district are Chetopa, Pleasanton, which dropped to eight-man from Class 2-1A, and St. Paul.
Southern Coffey County High’s Titans move into District 3 of Eight-Man I. They are joined by Burlingame, Lebo, Madison, Marais Des Cygnes Valley and White City. All but White City are members of the Lyon County League.
Following are the district football assignments for the 2010 and 2011 football seasons:

Class 6A

District 1 — Kansas City-Wyandotte, Leavenworth, Shawnee Mission-North, Shawnee Mission-Northwest
District 2 — Overland Park-Blue Valley North, Shawnee Mission-East, Shawnee Mission-South, Shawnee Mission-West
District 3 — Olathe-East, Olathe-South, Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest, Overland Park-Blue Valley West
District 4 — Lawrence, Lawrence-Free State, Olathe-North, Olathe-Northwest
District 5 — Junction City/Junction City-St. Xavier, Manhattan, Topeka, Topeka-Washburn Rural
District 6 — Derby, Wichita-East, Wichita-Heights, Wichita-Southeast
District 7 — Wichita-Haysville Campus, Wichita-North, Wichita-Northwest, Wichita-South
District 8 — Dodge City, Garden City, Goddard, Maize

Class 5A

District 1 — Bonner Springs, Kansas City-FL Schlagle, Kansas City-Washington, Lansing
District 2 — Kansas City-JC Harmon, Kansas City-Turner, Shawnee-Mill Valley, Shawnee Mission-Bishop Miege
District 3 — Tecumseh-Shawnee Heights, Topeka-Highland Park, Topeka-Seaman, Topeka-West
District 4 — Gardner-Gardner-Edgerton, Overland Park-St. Thomas Aquinas, Pittsburg, Stilwell-Blue Valley
District 5 — Emporia, McPherson, Newton, Valley Center
District 6 — Great Bend, Hays, Salina-Central, Salina-South
District 7 — Andover, Andover-Central, Arkansas City, Wichita-Kapaun Mount Carmel
District 8 — Hutchinson, Liberal, Wichita-Carroll, Wichita-West

Class 4A

District 1 — Atchison, Hiawatha, Kansas City-Piper, Kansas City-Sumner Academy
District 2 — Basehor-Linwood, Meriden-Jefferson West, Perry-Lecompton, Tonganoxie
District 3 — DeSoto, Kansas City-Bishop Ward, Lenexa-St. James Academy, Overland Park-Blue Valley
District 4 — Baldwin, Carbondale-Santa Fe Trail, Eudora, Ottawa
District 5 — Louisburg, Osawatomie, Paola, Spring Hill
District 6 — Fort Scott, Garnett-Anderson County, Iola, LaCygne-Prairie View
District 7 — Chanute, Girard, Independence, Parsons
District 8 — Altamont-Labette County, Baxter Springs, Coffeyville-Field Kindley, Columbus
District 9 — Holton, Hoyt-Royal Valley, Topeka-Hayden, Wamego
District 10 — Augusta, El Dorado, Rose Hill, Towanda-Circle
District 11 — Clearwater, Mulvane, Wellington, Winfield
District 12 — Andale, Cheney, Maize-South, Wichita-Trinity Academy
District 13 — Buhler, Haven, Nickerson, Pratt
District 14 — Holcomb, Hugoton, Larned, Ulysses
District 15 — Abilene, Chapman, Hesston, Lindsborg-Smoky Valley
District 16 — Clay Center Comm., Colby, Concordia, Russell

Class 3A

District 1 — Caney-Caney Valley, Cherryvale, Galena, Riverton
District 2 — Eureka, Fredonia, Leon-Bluestem, Neodesha
District 3 — Arma-Northeast, Cherokee-Southeast, Erie, Frontenac
District 4 - Pomona-West Franklin, Richmond-Central Heights, Uniontown, Wellsville
District 5 — Allen-Northern Heights, Burlington, Council Grove, Osage City
District 6 — Easton-Pleasant Ridge, McLouth, Rossville, Silver Lake
District 7 — Atchison-Maur Hill Mount Academy, Effingham-Atchison Co. Comm., Horton, Sabetha
District 8 — Marysville, Riley-Riley County, Seneca-Nemaha Valley, St. George-Rock Creek
District 9 — Gypsum-SE of Saline, Hillsboro, Marion, Whitewater-Remington
District 10 — Garden Plain, Halstead, Hutchinson-Trinity, Sedgwick
District 11 — Belle Plaine, Douglass, Wichita-Collegiate, Wichita-The Independent
District 12 — Anthony/Harper-Chaparral, Conway Springs, Kingman, Medicine Lodge
District 13 — Ellsworth, Hoisington, Lyons, Sterling
District 14 — Belleville-Republic County, Beloit, Minneapolis, Smith Center
District 15 — Goodland, Hays-Thomas More Prep-Marian, Norton-Norton Comm., Phillipsburg
District 16 — Cimarron, Kismet-Southwestern Heights, Lakin, Scott City-Scott Community

Class 2-1A

District 1 — Humboldt, Lyndon, Mound City-Jayhawk Linn, Olpe, Oswego, Pittsburg-St. Mary’s Colgan
District 2 — Leavenworth-Immaculata, Oskaloosa, Valley Falls, Wathena, Winchester-Jefferson County North
District 3 — Eskridge-Mission Valley, Holton-Jackson Heights, Onaga, St. Marys, Wabaunsee
District 4 — Blue Rapids-Valley Heights, Centralia/Wetmore, Highland-Doniphan West, Troy, Washington-Washington Co.
District 5 — Bennington, Cottonwood Falls-Chase County, Herington, Moundridge, Salina-Sacred Heart
District 6 — Brookville-Ell Saline, Ellinwood, Inman, La Crosse, Plainville
District 7 — Atwood-Rawlings Co., Ellis, Leoti-Wichita Co., Oakley, Oberlin-Decatur Comm., St. Francis
District 8 — Elkhart, Johnson-Stanton Co., Meade, Satanta, Sublette, Syracuse

Class 8 Man — Division I

District 1 — Burden-Central, Cedar Vale/Dexter, Howard-West Elk, Oxford, Sedan, Udall
District 2 — Chetopa, Colony-Crest, Moran-Marmaton Valley, Pleasanton, St. Paul, Yates Center
District 3 — Burlingame, Lebo, LeRoy-Southern Coffey Co., Madison/Hamilton, Melvern-Marais des Cygnes Valley, White City

District 4 — Clifton-Clyde, Downs-Lakeside, Glasco/Miltonvale-Southern Cloud, Mankato-Rock Hills, Randolph-Blue Valley, Scandia-Pike Valley, Wakefield
District 5 — Coldwater-South Central, Greensburg, Langdon-Fairfield, Macksville, Pratt-Skyline, Pretty Prairie, St. John-Hudson
District 6 — Deerfield, Jetmore, Kinsley, Minneola, Montezuma-South Gray, Ness City, Spearville
District 7 — Hill City, Hoxie, Lucas-Luray/Sylvan Unified, Osborne, Quinter, Stockton, Wakeeney-Trego Comm.
District 8 — Canton-Galva, Claflin, Goessel, Lincoln, Little River, Peabody-Burns, Solomon

Class 8 Man — Division II

District 1 — Axtell, Baileyville-B & B, Bern, Elwood, Frankfort, Hanover, Powhattan-Kickapoo Nation
District 2 — Beloit-St. Johns/Tipton, Bushton-Quivira Heights, Hope, Linn, Tescott, Wilson
District 3 — Buffalo-Altoona-Midway, Hartford, Longton-Elk Valley, Lost Springs-Centre, Rosalia-Flinthills, Waverly
District 4 — Argonia, Attica, Burrton, Caldwell, Kiowa-South Barber, Norwich, South Haven
District 5 — Bucklin, Chase, Cunningham, Haviland, Otis-Bison, Rozel-Pawnee Heights, Stafford
District 6 — Ashland, Dighton, Fowler, Ingalls, Moscow, Rolla
District 7 — Bird City-Cheylin, Grainfield-Wheatland-Grinnell, Reford-Golden Plains, Sharon Springs-Wallace Co., Tribune-Greeley Co., Triplains/Brewster, Weskan
District 8 — Almena-Northern Valley, Kensington-Thunder Ridge, Logan, Natoma, Palco, Ransom-Western Plains, Victoria