Mustangs claim second at CHHS meet

Register Sports Editor

RICHMOND — Rain played a part in Thursday’s cross country competition for the area high school teams. Not during Central Heights High’s Invitational but before the meet.
“Fort Scott and Baxter Springs came to Central Heights when Pittsburg canceled its meet due to rain,” said Marvin Smith, Iola High head coach. “It was very windy and lots of water on the Central Heights’ course.”
“The meet was made more competitive in every race when Fort Scott and Baxter Springs entered at the last minute,” said Kevin Barnes, Yates Center High’s cross country coach.
Iola High’s Mustangs came away with second-place team medals in the varsity boys race. Central Heights won with 45 points with Iola in second with 49 points. Osawatomie was third with 58 points. There were 16 schools in the meet.
Kent Toland paced the Mustangs with Ryan Latta as the No. 2 runner. There were 20 individual medals on the line with Toland taking ninth in 18 minutes, 12 seconds and Latta finishing 15th in 18:40.
“Kent did not even move into the top 20 until near the mile mark. We probably ran our first mile too slowly but the wind was very strong and we were a little cautious,” Smith said. “We ran two freshmen and they did very well.”
Iola freshman Garrett Catron took 21st in 19:08 followed by Ryan Weir in 27th at 19:22. Aaron Cheung was 20th in 19:31 and freshman Jordan Strickler was 47th in 21:07.
Marmaton Valley High sophomore Zach Louk earn-ed the third-place medal in the varsity race. He ran the 5K distance in 17:29. Teammate Ryan Smith was 36th in 20:08.
Yates Center senior Dylan Sicka, coming off a medical problem, turned in a fourth-place finish in the varsity race in 17:51.5. Paul Stockebrand was 23rd in 19:30.3.
“Dylan is getting stronger every week since experiencing a problem with his diaphragm during the Parsons meet and not being able to train hard for about 10 days,” Barnes said.
Humboldt High’s Jacob Jones ran 43rd in 20:51 and Jackson Smith was 51st in 23:07.
Humboldt junior Raquel Hill was the top performer among area runners in the varsity girls 4K race. Hill claimed the fourth-place medal in 18:31.
“Raquel ran another good race. She had hoped to finish higher than she did last year but she was beaten by three very good runners, two from Baxter Springs and one from Jayhawk-Linn,” said Eric Carlson, Humboldt cross country coach.
Iola High’s Sydney Owens, a sophomore, ran her first varsity race and earned the 16th-place medal. Owens ran the race in 19:27 while teammate Leah Weir was 21st in 20:11.
Marmaton Valley’s Jamee McEndree took the 13th-place medal in 19:24. Yates Center’s Cherokee Shaffer was 29th in 21:58.
Iola won the junior varsity boys team title because of a tie-breaker situation — Lee Berg and Drew Smith finished ahead of Central Heights’ No 6 runner. Iola and Central Heights each had 47 points and Humboldt was third with 58 points.
Ten individual medals were awarded and two went to the Mustangs. Josh Klubek was third in 20:41 and Brent Clark was sixth in 21:16.
Others placing for Iola were: 28. Tyler Shelby, 23:28; 29. Matthew Cunningham, 23:31; 30. Jarrett Mosbrucker, 23:45; 38. Lee Berg, 25:02; 29. Drew Smith, 25:14; 41. Anthony Mitchell, 25:52.
Humboldt’s Reece Criger ran his first race ever and claimed fifth-place to lead the Cubs’ junior varsity. His time for the 5K distance was 21:01.
Others placing for Humboldt were: 16. Dylan Greve, 22:10; 25. Nick Keazer, 23:05; 31. Chris Headley, 23:51; 40. Kile Martin, 25:49; 44. Riley Herder, 28:18.
Marmaton Valley’s Carlos Gonzales finished 11th in 21:48. Yates Center’s Sam Aguirre was 24th in 23:00.
In the junior high races, Iola’s Trent Latta won the eighth-grade boys race by over 25 seconds. He ran the two-mile race in 13:51. Iola’s Blaine Klubek was eighth in the seventh-grade boys’ mile race in 7:04.
Marmaton Valley’s Cole Endicott was fourth in the seventh-grade boys race in 6:42. Ashtynn Louk placed fourth in the eighth-grade girls two-mile race in 15:33.
The Register did not receive a report from Crest High School on its runners in the meet by today’s deadline.