Late model victory goes to Skaggs at Humboldt

HUMBOLDT — The late model class was back running the dirt track at Humboldt Speedway last Friday night.
Rusty Skaggs of Fort Scott had finished third and second in two previous late model stops at the Speedway this season. Skaggs captured the win by driving through the field and past Zack Simmons.
Jimmy Seagraves challenged Skaggs at the end but its was Skaggs’ victory. Seagraves ran second with Zack Simmons in third place and Jack Simmons in fourth.
Brian Bolin placed fifth and Humboldt’s Justin Hoepker finished sixth. Brian Bolster was seventh.
Speedway owners Ron and Rhenda Whitworth are promoting the late model class several times this season including this coming Friday.
Another promotion is to honor “vintage” racers. Last Friday, the Speedway crowd watched the Midwest Outlaw Vintage Racers compete. Al Broers won the race followed by Dale Reese, Lewis Jackson and Joe Martin.
This Friday night the Speedway is honoring its own vintage racers. A reunion of Humboldt track drivers from 1968 through the 1970s.
Drivers who meet this criteria and want to join the festivities should contact Rhenda Whitworth at the Speedway. The Outlaw Vintage Racers return also.
In last week’s B-Mod feature, Rick Aiello nabbed another feature win to pad his points lead in the division. Jerry Kustanborter crossed the finish line second followed by Paden Phillips, Scott Collins and Mike Letterman.
Scott Stuart and Steve Stuart were 1-2 in the factory stock feature race. Matt Weintz ran third and Karl Churning was fourth. Patrick Kay rounded out the top five.
In the modified feature, Justin Folk blazed a wire-to-wire victory. Jesse Folk Jr. turned in a second-place run while Brian Bolin was third followed by Rodney Sigg and Scott Daniels.
In a heated “Pit Crew Challenge,” Bolin’s crew was the quickest in changing front tires on a modified, beating Gene Hogan’s crew. Bolin’s crew face the Ryan Whitworth crew for the championship in October.