Vaccinations needed before school year

Vaccination requirements for children who will attend school during the 2009-10 academic year have been revised.
Vaccines required prior to the beginning of the school year are diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis; poliomyelitis; measles, mumps and rubella; hepatitis B; varicella (chickenpox); haemophilus influenzae type B; pneumococcal conjugate; and hepatitis A.
On Wednesday from 6 to 8 p.m. at Jefferson Elementary School, 300 S. Jefferson St., the Southeast Kansas Multi County Health De-partment will administer a free DTaP booster to all 11 year olds and the varicella vaccine to those in first through ninth grade in need of this vaccine. There will be no kindergarten vaccinations. Call the SEK Multi County Health Department at 365-2191 or toll-free at (800) 242-3782 with questions.