Scholarship rewarded

Register/Bob Johnson
Winners of $8,000 Helen Whitehead Gates academic scholarships this year are, front from left, Michelle Kretzmeier, Eileen Chase and Kenna McWhirter, and, back from left, Seth Snavely, Alex Piazza and Ryan Moran.

Five Iola High School and one Moran High graduate were awarded Helen Gates Whitehead Trust Scholarships this week. Recipients are Michelle Kretzmeier, Eileen Chase, Seth Snavely, Alex Piazza and Ryan Moran of Iola and Kenna McWhirter, Moran.
Each received an $8,000 scholarship, renewable at $1,000 a semester for eight college semesters.
Since 1991, 85 Whitehead Scholarships have been awarded, totaling about $550,000, said trustee Jim Immel.
Application is restricted to residents of Allen County who are graduating seniors and a “worthy student desiring a higher education in either graphic arts, fine arts or home economics.” Financial need is not a criteria.
Recipients in fine arts or graphic arts may attend any accredited college or university. Recipients in the field of home economics must pursue their education at Kansas State University, Mrs. Whitehead’s alma mater.
“Allen County is fortunate to have this and several other scholarships that provide students with opportunities for higher education,” Immel said. The Whitehead Trust also awards funding other than for college scholarships and provides many cultural advantages for Allen Countians, Immel said.